title image
Thursday, November 17, 2016

Bringing Clarity to Impact Investing

Date:
11/17/2016
Time:
Eastern 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Central 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Mountain 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Pacific 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Alaska 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Hawaii 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Related Information & Resources Webinar link (separate registration required)
Session Description:

While impact investing continues to grow, it remains difficult to articulate, analyze and differentiate the impact in impact investing. While tools exist to understand investments on the basis of financial characteristics, the same cannot be said of impact characteristics.

In traditional and impact investing, asset classes provide tremendous benefits as a frame for grouping investments with similar financial characteristics, but there is not equivalent shorthand for the impact in impact investing.  Without an improved classification, the market risks increased misunderstandings, inefficiencies, and misalignment that will impede its development. 

In a new report from Tideline, Navigating Impact Investing, social investment experts propose the creation of impact classes as a way to optimize the process of matching an investor’s unique risk, return and impact preferences with the right investment opportunities. In this one-hour session, report co-authors Ben Thornley of Tideline and Cathy Clark, a professor at Duke University, will share their proposed impact classes, the feedback they’ve received from stakeholders, and how to turn this concept into reality. Sasha Dichter of Acumen will offer a practitioner’s reflections on what an impact class framework may mean for the impact investing field. 

Speakers include:

  • Ben Thornley, Tideline
  • Cathy Clark, Duke University
  • Sasha Dichter, Acumen
  • Daniel Davis, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (moderator)
Register for this session!

If you would like to register for this session, please sign in and let us know. If this is your first session, you will receive an attendee activation email. Now you can join a Connecting Communities session three ways:

  • Phone only
  • Phone + webinar
  • Computer + webinar

Already Registered?
If you have registered but do not plan to attend, please cancel your registration.

Loading... Just a moment, please.
Loading... Just a moment, please.
Loading... Just a moment, please.
Loading... Just a moment, please.