title image
Thursday, January 26, 2017

Conversations from Thought Leaders on Economic Mobility: Reflections and Insights on Recent Research and Ideas

Date:
1/26/2017
Time:
Eastern 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Central 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Mountain 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Pacific 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
Alaska 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Hawaii 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Session Description:

The gap between the rich and poor has been called one of the world’s most widespread and pressing concerns. A key focus of the Federal Reserve, economic mobility was a theme of a recent national research conference, bringing together viewpoints from hundreds of experts across academia, policy and practice. In December 2016, the Fed released a collection of selected works presented at the conference, entitled Economic Mobility: Research & Ideas on Strengthening Families, Communities & the Economy, which explores a range of issues and concepts central to understanding how—and how well—people are able to move economically.

What is the current state of economic mobility across our nation? What challenges remain as we look to the future? And perhaps even more important, what opportunities exist to help shape a better future for those affected by economic inequality?

Tune in to this free one-hour Connecting Communities® webinar to hear from leading experts within the Federal Reserve and across the field as they engage in a dialogue about recent research and current initiatives that will shape the future. David Buchholz, from the Federal Reserve Board of Governors, and Ray Boshara, of the St. Louis Fed’s Center for Household Financial Stability, will provide a general introduction to the recently published collection of essays and provide updates on work across the Federal Reserve System.

Joining the conversation will be Nisha Patel, executive director of the US Partnership on Mobility from Poverty, as well as Erin Currier, director of financial security and mobility at the Pew Charitable Trusts, who will share their reflections and insight from current initiatives they lead.

For a preview of possible discussion topics, check out the Economic Mobility publication online.

Presenters include:

  • Nisha Patel, Executive Director, US Partnership on Mobility from Poverty
  • Erin Currier, Director of Financial Security and Mobility, The Pew Charitable Trusts
  • David Buchholz, Deputy Associate Director of Consumer & Community Affairs, Federal Reserve Board of Governors
  • Ray Boshara, Director, Center for Household Financial Stability, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Register for this session!

If you would like to register for this session, please sign in and let us know. If this is your first session, you will receive an attendee activation email. Now you can join a Connecting Communities session three ways:

  • Phone only
  • Phone + webinar
  • Computer + webinar

Already Registered?
If you have registered but do not plan to attend, please cancel your registration.

Loading... Just a moment, please.
Loading... Just a moment, please.
Loading... Just a moment, please.
Loading... Just a moment, please.